Minutes of the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate: May 19, 2015

Senators in attendance: Ashlee Claud, Sandra Bond, Geoff White, Elizabeth McCormick, Scott Bennett, Alix Guynn, Chad Wall, Laura Quesenberry, Dan Waidelich, Anthony Byrd, Loretta Estes, John Leonard, Michelle Jenkins, Donna Spradlin, Ed Oakes (Cabinet Liaison)

Senators unable to attend: Phil Crigger, Lisa McDaniel, Jaslyn Gilbert

- 1. Welcome. Meeting started at 10:30.
- 2. Guest speaker: JaRenae Whitehead of Human Resources explained the raise coming in August. She said it would take effect August 10 and all employees, who had been employed at RU before or on May 10, would receive a two percent raise. Classified staff would receive an additional compression raise of \$65 per year of employment, up to 35 years of service. Whitehead also explained a bit about the current open enrollment period, which ends this Friday (May 22), and the Premium Rewards program. By filling out a form and having a biometric screening, RU employees can save \$17 per enrolled adult per month on their RU health insurance premium. She and other HR staff have been holding sessions to explain all of this but indicated that they are quite happy to come directly to a department if that works better.
- 3. New and returning Senators were announced by Elizabeth McCormick.

a. Academic Affairs: Donna Spradlin (re-elected)

Anthony Byrd (returning)

Michele Jenkins (new)

b. Executive/Athletics: Scott Bennett (re-elected)

Chad Wall (re-elected)

Alyx Guynn (returning)

c. Finance & Administration: Laura Quesenberry (returning)

Phil Crigger (re-elected)

d. Information Technology: Lisa McDaniel (returning)

Jaslyn Gilbert (new)

e. Library: Elizabeth McCormick (returning)

f. Student Affairs: John Leonard (returning)

Geoff White (re-elected)

g. University Advancement: Sandra Bond (re-elected)

h. University Relations: Dan Waidelich (returning)

4. Elections of AP Senate officers for academic year 2015-16 were held.

a. President: Chad Wall

b. Vice President: Sandra Bond

c. Secretary: John Leonard

d. Parliamentarian: Geoff White

- 5. Minutes of the April 21 meeting were approved.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 11:10.