

Board of Visitors

Quarterly Meeting 12:30 p.m.** March 21, 2024 Roanoke Higher Education Center, Room 212, Roanoke, VA

DRAFTMINUTES

Board Members Present

Dr. Debra McMahon, Rector

Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector

Mr. Robert A. Archer

Ms. Jeanne S. Armentrout

Ms. Betsy D. Beamer

Dr. Jay A. Brown

Ms. Joann S. Craig

Dr. Betty Jo Foster

Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert

Mr. Tyler W. Lester

Mr. George Mendiola, Jr.

Mr. David A. Smith

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham

Mr. James C. Turk

Dr. Kurt Gingrich, Faculty Representative (Non-voting Advisory Member)

Mr. Troy Stallard, Student Representative (Non-voting Advisory Member)

Board Member Absent

Ms. Lisa W. Pompa

Others Present

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President

Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Dr. Dannette Gomez Beane, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Strategic Communications

Dr. Rob Hoover, Vice President for Finance and Administration

Dr. Angela Joyner, Vice President for Economic Development and Corporate Education

Ms. Susan Richardson, University Counsel

Dr. Susan Trageser, Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Bethany Usher, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Penny Helms White, Vice President for University Advancement

Call to Order

Rector Debra K. McMahon called the meeting of the Radford University Board of Visitors to order at 12:35 p.m. in Room 212 of the Roanoke Higher Education Center.

CLOSED SESSION

Rector McMahon requested a motion to move into closed session. Mr. Marquett Smith made the motion that the Radford University Board of Visitors convene a closed session pursuant to **Section 2.2-3711 (A) Items 2 and 8** under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act for the discussion of personnel matters, more specifically related to the President's performance plan and for consultation with legal counsel.

Mr. George Mendiola seconded the motion. The Board of Visitors went into closed session at 12:38 p.m.

RECONVENED SESSION

Following closed session, public access to the meeting was reconnected. Rector McMahon called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. On the motion made by Mr. Marquett Smith and seconded by Ms. Betsy Beamer, the following resolution of certification was presented.

Resolution of Certification

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Radford University Board of Visitors certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Board.

Roll Call	Vote
Mr. Marquett Smith	Yes
Mr. Robert A. Archer	Yes
Ms. Jeanne Armentrout	Yes
Ms. Betsy D. Beamer	Yes
Dr. Jay Brown	Yes
Ms. Joann S. Craig	Yes
Dr. Betty Jo Foster	Yes
Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert	Yes
Mr. Tyler Lester	Yes
Mr. George Mendiola	Yes
Mr. David A Smith	Yes
Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham	Yes
Mr. James Turk	Yes
Dr. Debra K. McMahon	Yes

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Board, Rector McMahon adjourned the meeting at 1:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Casteele

Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

End of Board of Visitors Materials

