Executive Committee

June 2024



Page 1 of 6



Executive Committee 8:00 a.m. \*\* June 7, 2024 Dean's Conference Room Kyle Hall, Third Floor, Radford, VA

#### DRAFT

#### <u>Agenda</u>

•	Call to Order	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair
•	Approval of Agenda	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>
•	Approval of Minutes • March 22, 2024	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>
•	Committee Discussion	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>
•	<b>Closed Session</b> Virginia Freedom of Information Act §2.2-3711(A) (1) and (8)	Dr. Debra McMahon, Rector
•	<ul> <li>Action Item</li> <li>Recommendation for approval of evaluation and compensation</li> </ul>	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>
•	Other Business	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>
•	ADJOURNMENT	Dr. Debra K. McMahon, <i>Chair</i>

**\*\***All start times for committees are approximate only. Meetings may begin either before or after the listed approximate start time as committee members are ready to proceed.

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:**

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio) Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Mr. Tyler W. Lester, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

# Minutes



Page 3 of 6



#### Executive Committee 8:00 a.m. \*\* March 22, 2024 Roanoke Higher Education Center, Room 510E, Roanoke, VA

### DRAFT

#### **MINUTES**

#### **Committee Members Present**

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio) Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Mr. Tyler W. Lester, (BAAC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

#### Committee Member Absent

Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC)

#### **Others Present**

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President Ms. Susan Richardson, University Counsel Dr. Bethany Usher, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Ms. Betsy D. Beamer, Board Member Ms. Joann S. Craig, Board Member Dr. Betty Jo Foster, Board Member

#### Call to Order

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector, called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m. in Room 510E in the Roanoke Higher Education Center.

#### Approval of Agenda

Rector McMahon asked for a motion to approve the March 22, 2024 meeting agenda, as published. Mr. Marquett Smith so moved, Mr. Tyler Lester seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

#### Approval of Minutes

Rector McMahon asked for a motion to approve the December 1, 2023 minutes of the Executive Committee meeting. Mr. Marquett Smith so moved, Mr. Tyler Lester seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

#### President's Remarks

President Bret Danilowicz shared updates on the planning of the annual summer retreat, including the upcoming six-year strategic plan and discussed best practices for onboarding new members.

#### **Committee Discussion and Updates**

Rector McMahon asked the committee chairs if they had information that they would like to share or if it could wait until the full board meeting. Members discussed the importance of being prepared ahead of the committee meetings.

#### **Other Business**

Rector McMahon shared the process for the upcoming election of Rector and Vice Rector and named the Nominating Committee, which includes David Smith, as chair, Jennifer Wishon Gilbert and Bob Archer. The Committee Chair will have a call for nominations on May 1 and it will be open for 10 days. The Nominating Committee will bring forward the recommendations at the June meeting for voting on the Rector and Vice Rector to serve 2024-2025.

#### <u>Adjournment</u>

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 8:39 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Karen Casteele Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

## End of Board of Visitors Materials

