

RADFORD UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

SPECIAL MEETING
FEBRUARY 28, 2015
12:00 NOON
ALBEMARLE ROOM
THE BOAR'S HEAD INN
200 EDNAM DRIVE
CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA

APPROVED

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. Michael A. Wray, Rector

Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Vice Rector

Mr. Anthony R. Bedell

Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell

Ms. Callie M. Dalton

Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston

Mr. Randolph "Randy" J. Marcus

Dr. Javaid Siddiqi

Ms. Alethea "AJ" Robinson

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham

BOARD MEMBER PARTICIPATING VIA TELEPHONE

Mr. Christopher Wade 9330 Hobart Ct. Fairfax, VA 703-425-1834

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. Matthew B. Crisp

Mr. Steve Robinson

Ms. Ruby W. Rogers.

OTHERS PRESENT

President Penelope W. Kyle

Mr. Ronald Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia

Dr. James Burke, Performance Management Group

Ms. Linda Pierce, Performance Management Group

Michele N. Schumacher, Secretary to the Board of Visitors

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Michael A. Rector, formally called the meeting to order at 12:18 p.m. in the Albemarle Room of the Boar's Head Inn, 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.

CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Wray called for the Board to go into Closed Session and asked Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Rector to make the motion. Dr. Dye moved, pursuant to Section 2.2-3711(A)(1) of the Freedom of Information Act, that the Radford University Board of Visitors go into "Closed Session" for the discussion of personnel matters, more specifically matters relating to the performance evaluation or compensation of certain Radford University employees and the evaluation of performance of certain departments or schools of the University which will require performance evaluations of specific individuals in those departments. Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell seconded the motion and a roll-call vote was taken:

Vote: yes	Mr. Michael A. Wray	yes	Mr. Randolph J. Marcus
yes	Dr. Kevin R. Dye	yes	Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson
yes	Mr. Anthony R. Bedell	yes	Dr. Javaid Siddiqi
yes	Ms. Mary W. Campbell	yes	Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
yes	Ms. Callie M. Dalton	yes	Mr. Christopher Wade
yes	Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston		

All members responded affirmatively and the motion carried.

Mr. Wray asked Mr. Ronald Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia, to attend the Closed Session. The President, Dr. James Burke, Ms. Linda Pierce and Ms. Michele Schumacher left the meeting at this point.

RECONVENED SESSION

Following the closed session, the public was invited to return to the meeting. Mr. Wray, Rector, called the meeting to order. Mr. Wray, Rector, asked Dr. Dye to make the motion to return to open session and Dr. Dye read the following resolution.

Certification of Executive Meeting

WHEREAS, the Radford University Board of Visitors has convened a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Radford University Board of Visitors hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (1) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under Virginia law and (2) only such public business

Radford University Board of Visitors Meeting February 28, 2015 Minutes

matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the meeting by the Radford University Board of Visitors.

Ms. Campbell seconded. A roll-call vote was taken:

Vote: yes	Mr. Michael A. Wray	yes	Mr. Randolph J. Marcus
yes	Dr. Kevin R. Dye	yes	Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson
yes	Mr. Anthony R. Bedell	yes	Dr. Javaid Siddiqi
yes	Ms. Mary W. Campbell	yes	Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
yes	Ms. Callie M. Dalton	yes	Mr. Christopher Wade
yes	Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston	-	-

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Board, Mr. Michael A. Wray, Rector, adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michele N. Schumacher Secretary to the Board of Visitors