

Approved

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. Michael A. Wray, Rector Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Vice Rector Mr. Anthony R. Bedell Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell Ms. Krisha Chachra Ms. Callie M. Dalton Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston Mr. Randolph "Randy" J. Marcus Dr. Javaid Siddiqi Mr. Christopher Wade

BOARD MEMBER PARTICIPATING VIA TELEPHONE

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham 2220 Woodland Hills Drive Blacksburg, VA 540-552-0707

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. Matthew B. Crisp Ms. Alethea "AJ" Robinson Mr. Steve Robinson Ms. Ruby W. Rogers

OTHERS PRESENT

President Penelope W. Kyle

Mr. Ronald Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia Mr. Joe Carpenter, Vice President for University Relations and Chief Communications Officer Michele N. Schumacher, Secretary to the Board of Visitors

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Michael A. Rector, formally called the meeting to order at 12:18 p.m. in the Albemarle Room of the Boar's Head Inn, 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.

CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Wray called for the Board to go into Closed Session and asked Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Rector to make the motion. Dr. Dye moved, pursuant to Sections 2.2-3711(A)(1), 2.2-3711(A)29 and 2.2-3711(A)7 of the Freedom of Information Act, that the Radford University Board of Visitors go into "Closed Session" for the discussion of personnel matters, more specifically matters relating to the performance evaluation or compensation of certain Radford University employees and the evaluation of performance of certain departments or schools of the University which will require performance evaluations of specific individuals in those departments; and to discuss award of a public contract involving expenditure of public funds where discussion in open session would adversely affect our bargaining position, and more specifically whether and under what terms and conditions to renew a contract; and for the consultation with legal counsel relating to personnel matters and contract. Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell seconded the motion and a roll-call vote was taken:

Vote: yes	Mr. Michael A. Wray	yes	Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston
yes	Dr. Kevin R. Dye	yes	Mr. Randolph J. Marcus
yes	Mr. Anthony R. Bedell	yes	Dr. Javaid Siddiqi
yes	Ms. Mary W. Campbell	yes	Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
yes	Ms. Callie M. Dalton	yes	Mr. Christopher Wade
yes	Ms. Krisha Chachra		

All members responded affirmatively and the motion carried.

Mr. Wray asked Mr. Ronald Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia, to attend the Closed Session. The President, and Ms. Michele Schumacher left the meeting at this point.

RECONVENED SESSION

Following the closed session, the public was invited to return to the meeting. Mr. Wray, Rector, called the meeting to order. Mr. Wray, Rector, asked Dr. Dye to make the motion to return to open session and Dr. Dye read the following resolution.

Certification of Executive Meeting

WHEREAS, the Radford University Board of Visitors has convened a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Radford University Board of Visitors hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (1) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under Virginia law and (2) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the meeting by the Radford University Board of Visitors.

Ms. Campbell seconded. A roll-call vote was taken:

Vote: yes	Mr. Michael A. Wray	yes	Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston
yes	Dr. Kevin R. Dye	yes	Mr. Randolph J. Marcus
yes	Mr. Anthony R. Bedell	yes	Dr. Javaid Siddiqi
yes	Ms. Mary W. Campbell	yes	Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
yes	Ms. Krisha Chachra	yes	Mr. Christopher Wade
yes	Ms. Callie M. Dalton		

After the closed session Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston made a motion that the Board approve the amendments to President Kyle's contract before us and as discussed in Closed Session to reflect her retirement as President of Radford University on June 30, 2016. Ms. Mary W. Campbell seconded. A roll call vote was taken:

Votes in favor: Mr. Michael A. Wray	Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston
Dr. Kevin R. Dye	Mr. Randolph J. Marcus
Mr. Anthony R. Bedell	Dr. Javaid Siddiqi
Ms. Mary W. Campbell	Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
Ms. Callie M. Dalton	Mr. Christopher Wade

Abstention: Ms. Krisha Chachra

With ten votes in favor the motion was passed.

OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Ronald C. Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia, then reviewed the process of a presidential search.

After discussion, Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Vice Rector made a motion to adopt the following:

Be it resolved that Mr. Michael A. Wray, Rector, be appointed Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, and that Ms. Mary W. Campbell be appointed Vice Chair of the Presidential Search Committee; and be it further

Resolved that in addition to Mr. Wray and Ms. Campbell the following Board members be appointed to the Presidential Search Committee, Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Ms. Susan Whealler Johnston, Mr. Randolph J. Marcus, and Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham and that the charge to Radford University Board of Visitors Meeting March 28, 2015 Minutes

the Presidential Search Committee is to bring a list of two to four candidates, unranked, for consideration to the Board of Visitors; and be it further

Resolved that the Chair and Vice Chair of the Presidential Search Committee are directed to undertake the appointment to the Presidential Search Committee of representatives from the various Radford University constituencies including but not limited to faculty, students, staff, and alumni; and be it further

Resolved that Mr. Michael A. Wray, Ms. Campbell, Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Ms. Susan Whealler Johnston, Mr. Randolph J. Marcus, and Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham are appointed to the Search Firm Subcommittee and are hereby authorized to undertake the search for an Executive Search Firm; and be it further

Resolved, that Mr. Wray and Dr. Johnston, be appointed as a subcommittee of the Search Firm Subcommittee to select two to three search firms to be interviewed by the Search Firm Subcommittee.

Mr. Christopher Wade seconded, and the following roll call vote was taken:

Votes in favor: Mr. Michael A. Wray Dr. Kevin R. Dye Mr. Anthony R. Bedell Ms. Mary W. Campbell Ms. Krisha Chachra Ms. Callie M. Dalton Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston Mr. Randolph J. Marcus Dr. Javaid Siddiqi Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham Mr. Christopher Wade

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Board, Mr. Michael A. Wray, Rector, adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michele N. Schumacher Secretary to the Board of Visitors