

# RADFORD UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MEETING

10:00 A.M.

# FEBRUARY 1, 2016 PRESIDENT'S CONFERENCE ROOM THIRD FLOOR – MARTIN HALL RADFORD UNIVERSITY

**DRAFT** 

#### **MINUTES**

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham, Vice Chair

Ms. Callie M. Dalton

Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson

Ms. Ruby W. Rogers

Ms. Hannah Gullickson, student representative (non-voting, advisory member)

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT**

Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell, Chair

Mr. Steve A. Robinson

#### **OTHERS PRESENT**

Dr. Mark Shanley, Vice President for Student Affairs Radford University faculty and staff

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham, Vice Chair, formally called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m. in the President's Conference Room, Third Floor – Martin Hall, on the campus of Radford University.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Ms. Snyder-Falkinham asked for a motion to approve the February 1, 2016 meeting agenda, as published. Ms. Ruby W. Rogers so moved and Ms. Callie M. Dalton seconded and the agenda was unanimously approved.

Radford University Board of Visitors Student Affairs Committee February 1, 2016 Draft Minutes

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Ms. Snyder-Falkinham asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 12, 2015 meeting of the Student Affairs Committee, as published. Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson so moved and Ms. Rogers seconded and the minutes were unanimously approved. A copy of the approved minutes can be found at

http://www.radford.edu/content/bov/home/meetings/minutes.html.

#### REPORT FROM THE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE TO THE BOARD OF VISITORS

Ms. Hannah Gullickson, student non-voting advisory representative to the Board of Visitors, provided a report that included a detailed update on key student activities and events on campus since the November 2015 meeting, as well as a review of the Student Government Association strategic initiatives for spring semester.

Ms. Snyder-Falkinham thanked Ms. Gullickson for her report.

#### STUDENT AFFAIRS REPORT

Dr. Mark Shanley, Vice President for Student Affairs, provided a report that updated the Committee on the three new residential learning communities: RU Makers, ECO, and Next Gen. He also informed the Committee that a suicide awareness and prevention program for students at risk of suicide is being implemented for the spring 2016 semester; and that the student health and emergency management staff are developing protocols to implement if there were an outbreak of the Zika virus. Dr. Shanley also noted that Student Affairs has also developed an annual program of five (5) campus-wide community engagement events to be conducted throughout the academic year. A copy of the Dr. Shanley's report is attached hereto as *Attachment A* and is made a part hereof.

Dr. Irvin Clark, Dean of Students, and Ms. Lauren Hatfield, Assistant Director for Residential Programming, gave a presentation on Mentoring Academically Successful Highlanders (MASH) Program that assists conditionally accepted students to increase their chances of success at Radford. It was noted that of the 31 students who participated 30 were eligible to return for the spring 2016 semester, and that the program will be expanded in the Fall 2016 semester to support 80 incoming freshman. A copy of the presentation is attached hereto as *Attachment B* and is made a part hereof.

Ms. Snyder-Falkinham thanked Dr. Shanley, Dr. Clark and Ms. Hatfield for their presentations.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

The Committee also received updates on the status of its three committee goals, Community Service, Campus Safety, and the Student Organization Involvement Center (Club Hub).

Radford University Board of Visitors Student Affairs Committee February 1, 2016 Draft Minutes

Mr. Shanley updated the Committee on the activities for Advocacy Day which is scheduled for next week.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business to come before the Committee, Ms. Snyder-Falkinham, Chair, adjourned the meeting at 11:47 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jenni Tunstall Secretary to the Committee