

RADFORD UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS DECEMBER 15, 2015 RESIDENCE INN ALEXANDRIA AT CARLYLE 2345 MILL ROAD ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA

DRAFT

The Board of Visitors of Radford University met on Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 6:50 p.m. in the Conference Room at the Residence Inn Alexandria at Carlyle. The following Board members were present: Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Rector, Mr. Christopher Wade, Vice Rector, Ms. Mary W. Campbell, Ms. Callie Dalton, Dr. Kevin R. Dye, Ms. Mary Ann Hovis, Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston, Dr. Jerry Kopf, faculty representative (non-voting, advisory member), Mr. Mark Lawrence, Mr. Randy J. Marcus, Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson, Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham. The following Board members were absent: Ms. Krisha Chachra, Mr. Steve Robinson, and Ms. Ruby W. Rogers.

Others present: Mr. Ron Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia, Mr. Joe Carpenter, Vice President for University Relations and Chief Communications Officer, Ms. Kathy Thompson, Secretary to the Presidential Search Committee.

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> Mr. Anthony R. Bedell called the meeting to order at 6:50 p.m.

After discussion, Mr. Christopher Wade, Vice Rector, made a motion to adopt the following:

Be it resolved that the Board of Visitors hereby appoints Dr. Brian O. Hemphill as President of Radford University for a five-year term effective July 1, 2016 and authorizes the Rector to negotiate and execute a contract with Dr. Hemphill in accordance with the terms discussed.

Mr. Randy J. Marcus seconded the motion and the following roll call vote was taken.

Yes Mr. Anthony R. Bedell Yes Mr. Christopher Wade Yes Ms. Mary W. Campbell Yes Ms. Callie M. Dalton

Yes Dr. Kevin R. Dye

Yes Ms. Mary Ann Hovis

Yes Dr. Susan Whealler Johnston

Yes Mr. Mark Lawrence Yes Mr. Randolph J. Marcus Yes Ms. Alethea "AJ" Robinson

Yes Dr. Javaid Siddigi

Yes Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham

All members present responded affirmatively and the motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Board, Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Rector, adjourned the meeting at 6:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy L. Thompson Secretary to the Presidential Search Committee