

RADFORD UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MEETING BOARD ROOM - MARTIN HALL RADFORD, VIRGINIA 3:00 P.M. MAY 8, 2014

APPROVED

MINUTES

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Chair

Ms. Ruby W. Rogers, Vice Chair

Ms. Callie M. Dalton

Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson

Mr. Michael A. Wray

Ms. Katrina Koussis, student representative (non-voting, advisory member),

Ms. Linda K. Whitley-Taylor, Rector

Ms. Mary Waugh Campbell, Vice Rector

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. Michael S. Hurt

Mr. Milton C. Johns

Mr. Randolph "Randy" J. Marcus

Mr. Steve A. Robinson

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham

Dr. Jerry M. Kopf, faculty representative (non-voting, advisory member)

OTHERS PRESENT:

President Penelope W. Kyle

Mr. Richard Alvarez, Vice President for Finance & Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Joe Carpenter, Vice President for University Relations and Chief Communications Officer

Mr. Danny M. Kemp, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Radford University Board of Visitors Student Affairs Committee May 8, 2014 Minutes

Dr. Sam Minner, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Mark Shanley, Vice President for Student Affairs

Ms. Margaret McManus, University Auditor

Mr. Zachary McCoy, President of the Student Government Association

Other Radford University faculty and staff

Mr. Ronald C. Forehand, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia

Mr. Mike F. Melis, Assistant Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia

Dr. James Burke, Performance Management Group

Ms. Linda Pierce, Performance Management Group

Ms. Michele N. Schumacher, Secretary to the Board of Visitors

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Anthony R. Bedell, Chair, formally called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. in the Board Room in Martin Hall.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Mr. Bedell asked for a motion to approve the May 8, 2014 meeting agenda, as published. Ms. Alethea "A.J." Robinson so moved and Ms. Ruby W. Rogers seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Bedell asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 7, 2014 meeting of the Student Affairs Committee, as published. Mr. Wray so moved and Ms. Robinson seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

REPORT FROM THE PRESIDENT OF THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

Mr. Zachary McCoy, President of the Student Government Association (SGA), provided a Year in Review Report from the SGA, highlighting the SGA activities for the 2013-2014 academic year which included the Campus Safety Walk, SGA constitution revisions, student body elections and SGA leadership transition planning. A copy of Mr. McCoy's report is attached hereto as *Attachment A* and is made a part hereof.

Radford University Board of Visitors Student Affairs Committee May 8, 2014 Minutes

STUDENT AFFAIRS REPORT

Dr. Mark Shanley, Vice President for Student Affairs, noted his annual report for the 2013-2014 year can be found in their Board materials. A copy of the report is attached hereto as *Attachment B* and is made a part hereof. Dr. Shanley stated he would review his proposal for how the Student Affairs Division should be assessed and provided five possible benchmarks for assessing the Student Affairs Division.

Dr. Irvin Clark, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, updated the Committee on advances made in several areas including Student Support Services, Disability Resources, and the Center for Diversity and Inclusion.

Mr. Kenneth J. Bonk, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Student Activities, reviewed college activities that are known to enhance not only success in college but also success in careers. These activities included significant involvement in co-curricular activities, internships and student employment, and academic projects that span more than one semester. He advised the Committee that all these experiences are available to students at Radford University.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Committee, Mr. Bedell, Chair, adjourned the meeting at 5:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michele N. Schumacher Secretary to the Board of Visitors