MINUTES Information Technology Advisory Committee November 16, 2010

Attendees: John Albano, Jeff Aspelmeier, Charlie Cosmato, Erin Cruise, Axel Grossman, Steve Helm, Maung Htay, Jaime Hunt, Christy Jackson, Danny Kemp, Randa McDonald, Margaret McManus, Jackie McNabb, Ed Oakes, Santhosh Parameswaran, Emily Radcliffe, Bill Shorter, Dennie Templeton, Brad Tilley, David Wheeler (for Monica Weinzapfel)

Absent: Dave Falletta, Cathy Greenberg, Michael Moore, Patrick Reed

The Information Technology Advisory Committee was called to order by Charlie Cosmato, Vice Chair, at 9:00 am on November 16, 2010. Charlie asked for approval of the April 23, 2010 minutes. Jeff Aspelmeier motioned to approve, Steve Helm seconded, motion carried.

Charlie asked for nominations for Chair for the Information Technology Advisory Committee for 2010-2011. By unanimous vote, Jeff Aspelmeier was elected Chair and Charlie Cosmato was elected Vice-Chair.

Jaime Hunt, Director of Web Communications, gave an update on the new university website. She stated that there was a soft launch of the website on November 10. Phase I of the upgraded website will be launched in January 2011.

Charlie Cosmato discussed the migration from WebCT to Desire to Learn. He said the migration is being tested now and our WebCT license will be terminated in June 2011.

Ed Oakes passed out copies of the Firewall Policy for the Committee to review for implementation. Steve Helm motioned to move forward with the Firewall Policy, Charlie Cosmato seconded, motioned carried.

John Albano discussed student computer recommendations for the 2011-12 academic year. A subcommittee was created to further review options for the recommendations. The committee members are Ed Oakes (chair), John Albano, Maung Htay, Santhosh Parameswaran, Emily Radcliffe, and Rebecca Scheckler.

Ed Oakes reviewed Faculty/Staff computer replacements. A subcommittee was created to discuss options for computer replacements for the 2011-12 academic year. The committee members are Ed Oakes (chair), John Albano, Jeff Aspelmeier, Charlie Cosmato, Steve Helm, and Rebecca Scheckler.

John Albano suggested that a process be implemented for requesting new software. A subcommittee was formed to discuss this process. The committee members are John Albano (chair), Maung Htay, Ed Oakes, Rebecca Scheckler, and Dennie Templeton.

John Albano motioned to adjourn, Steve Helm seconded. The meeting adjourned at 11:00 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda W. Kipps