MINUTES Information Technology Advisory Committee December 10, 2008

Attendees: Bill Abplanalp, John Albano, Jeff Aspelmeier, Charley Cosmato, Patrick Critzer, Monta Elkins, Steve Helm, Maung Htay, Danny Kemp, Jerry Kopf, Ted McKosky, Randa McDonald, Ed Oakes, Sean Ramsey, Rick Rogers, Rebecca Scheckler, Dennie Templeton

Absent: Amber Alcarez, Wendy Lowe, Rick Rogers, Dennie Templeton

The Information Technology Advisory Committee was called to order by Ted McKosky, Chair, at 10:00 am on December 10, 2008. Mr. McKosky asked for approval of the November 18, 2008 minutes. Bill Abplanalp motioned to approve, Sean Ramsey seconded, motion passed.

John Albano announced that Hewlett Packard would be giving a demonstration of some of their printers, reviewing usage, and recommending printers on Friday, December 12, at 2:30 pm in Walker 189 and invited the committee to attend.

John reported that the Personal Computer subcommittee is reviewing the technical specs for the RFP and are hoping it will go out the first week in January.

Ed Oakes passed out drafts of the "Information Technology Password Policy & Standards," "Account Management Policy," and the "Data Storage and Media Protection Policy" for the Committee to review. After discussion, Ed motioned to change passwords every 90 days for sensitive systems and every 12 months for non-sensitive systems. Rebecca Scheckler seconded. Sean Ramsey suggested clarification of what sensitive and non-sensitive systems are. He made a friendly amendment for Section 2. Policy, bullet 5, to change the word "must" to "should" (Passwords should not be written down.) Motion passed.

Ed Oakes motioned to change the "Account Management Policy" so that Retired Faculty/Staff have access to all of the services provided except for RU Express. Jerry Kopf seconded, motion passed.

Ed Oakes motioned to accept the "Data Storage and Media Protection Policy" as presented to the Committee. Jerry Kopf seconded, motion passed.

The University will be adopting encryption software and a subcommittee was formed to decide which software should be purchased. The committee will consist of John Albano, Bill Abplanalp, Monta Elkins and Sean Ramsey.

Ed Oakes reported that the Email Outsource Feasibility Subcommittee is still discussing email outsourcing and he will report back to the Committee at the next meeting.

Ted McKosky asked the committee to send their schedules to Linda Kipps so that a meeting time can be established for Spring semester.

John Albano motioned to adjourn, seconded by Rebecca Scheckler.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda W. Kipps