MINUTES Information Technology Advisory Committee February 16, 2011

Attendees: John Albano, Jeff Aspelmeier, Bruce Buskill (for Steve Helm), Dave Falletta, Cathy Greenberg, Axel Grossman, Jaime Hunt, Christy Jackson, Danny Kemp, Randa McDonald, Jackie McNabb, Michael Moore, Ed Oakes, Santhosh Parameswaran, Rebecca Scheckler (for Erin Cruise), Bill Shorter, Dennie Templeton, Brad Tilley, Monica Weinzapfel

Absent: Charlie Cosmato, Maung Htay, Emily Radcliffe, Patrick Reed, Bill Shorter

The Information Technology Advisory Committee was called to order by Jeff Aspelmeier, Chair, at 1:00 pm on February 16, 2011. Jeff asked for approval of the January 26, 2011 minutes. The name Eric Cruise was corrected to Erin Cruise. Michael Moore motioned to approve the minutes with the change, Dennie Templeton seconded, motion carried.

John Albano reported that the iPad subcommittee has met and he passed out a draft statement from the subcommittee to the Committee. Ed Oakes stated that there is no method available to purchase applications for the iPad through the Apple Program. After discussion, the decision was made to not include iPads in the list of computer recommendations.

Ed Oakes announced that conversations are continuing with Follett and Lenovo regarding configurations and models for the student computer recommendations. He is hopeful that the new recommendations will be posted on the DoIT website by April 1.

The committee discussed faculty computer replacements and requested that the different suggested models be set up somewhere on campus for faculty to look at and use to help them decide which computer they would like to have.

Ed passed out copies of the Account Management Policy to the committee. He asked the committee to review the policy and email him their feedback.

Randa McDonald motioned to adjourn, Dennie Templeton seconded. The meeting adjourned at 2:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda W. Kipps