MINUTES Information Technology Advisory Committee April 20, 2011

Attendees: John Albano, Jeff Aspelmeier, Bruce Buskill (for Steve Helm), Charley Cosmato, Axel Grossman, Jon Harris, Jaime Hunt, Stephanie Jennelle (for Bill Shorter), Danny Kemp, Randa McDonald, Jackie McNabb, Michael Moore, Ed Oakes, Santhosh Parameswaran, Ariel Pena, Rebecca Scheckler (for Erin Cruise), Dennie Templeton, Brad Tilley, Prem Uppuluri (for Maung Htay), Monica Weinzapfel

Absent: Dave Falletta, Emily Radcliffe, Patrick Reed

The Information Technology Advisory Committee was called to order by Jeff Aspelmeier, Chair, at 1:00 pm on April 20, 2011. Jeff asked for approval of the March 16, 2011 minutes. Ed Oakes motioned, Randa McDonald seconded, motion carried.

Ed Oakes stated that he looked at other schools sites for ideas on what to post on the DoIT website for Student Computer Recommendations. He passed out a draft of the 2011 Student Computer Recommendations for the Committee to review. The Committee agreed that a bullet needed to be added recommending a laptop. Ed also passed out a list of the configurations for the computers at the bookstore for the Committee's review.

Brad Tilley explained what email disclaimers are. He stated that he is looking for appropriate legal wording for anyone at RU who uses disclaimers so that we are sure that what is being used is legally correct. The University isn't mandating disclaimers, only attempting to be sure that they are being used properly.

Rebecca Scheckler indicated that more technology assistance is needed with Lecture Capture, which is a part of Media Site software. The Committee discussed different concerns with this technology. Charley Cosmato made a motion to form a subcommittee to analyze the issues related to Lecture Capture/Media Site. Michael Moore seconded, motion carried. The subcommittee members will be Charley Cosmato, Chair, John Albano, Michael Moore, Rebecca Scheckler, and Dennie Templeton.

Jeff Aspelmeier asked what people can use for editing their websites if they don't use CMS. After much discussion, Rebecca Scheckler made a motion to form a subcommittee to recommend a new web editing tool that is supported by the Division of Information Technology. Monica Weinzapfel seconded, motion carried. The subcommittee members will be Jeff Aspelmeier, Chair, Jon Harris, Jaime Hunt, and Rebecca Scheckler.

Michael Moore motioned to adjourn, Jackie McNabb seconded. The meeting adjourned at 2:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda W. Kipps