Support Theatre Scholarships

 In addition to the Charles L. Hayes Visiting Artist Endowment, the Department of Theatre proudly announces the establishment of several new giving opportunities: the Kathleen Harvey Harshberger Endowed Scholarship, the Carl Lefko and Monica Weinzapfel Endowed Travel Scholarship and the James Memorial Scholarship. We encourage you to consider making a contribution to the fund that best matches your giving goals. The department is sincerely appreciative for all of the support our patrons continue to show for student success.  For a limited time, we are also offering commemorative plaques containing a floor sample from one of the traps salvaged from the Pridemore Stage as an additional scholarship fundraising activity.

Charles L. Hayes Visiting Artist Endowment:

Funds earned from the endowment are used to support the Theatre Visiting Artist initiative which brings guest actors, directors, designers, playwrights and other artists to campus to work closely with students.  Whether through masterclasses, workshops or production work these professionals provide invaluable experiential opportunities along with exposure to the professional entertainment industry.  

Kathleen Harvey Harshberger Endowed Scholarship:

This endowed scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman Theatre major with an emphasis in performance.  The scholarship may be renewed for a maximum of three years based on the student’s academic standing and progress in the performance program.

James Memorial Scholarship:

This endowed scholarship is awarded to a Theatre major with an emphasis in design/technical theatre and is awarded based on a student’s commitment and success within the technical areas of theatre.  

Carl H. Lefko and Monica Weinzapfel Endowed Travel Scholarship:

This endowed scholarship is awarded to one or more students each year for travel to regional and national professional conferences. The scholarship supports student participation in auditions, design competitions and searches for internships and/or employment.

The Tyler B. Humphreys Academic Support Fund

This endowed fund is used to support students’ classroom supplies such as stage makeup kits for individual students and personal scenic brushes and paint supplies for scenic painting classes as well as any other classroom support as deemed by the department.

Remembering Porterfield's Stage

Remembering Porterfield Hall
Porterfield Hall 1974-2021. Charles L. Hayes Stage. Nancy Necessary Pridemore Playhouse. Dr. James W. and Lilli H. Hawes Studio Theatre. In Memory of all actors, directors, designers and technicians who trod on this stage! Radford University.

We are calling upon our Radford Family of theatre enthusiasts to celebrate the rich history of theatre at Radford University.

For $150 (including shipping), you can support students studying theatre within the College of Visual and Performing Arts (CVPA) AND own a piece of Radford theater history.

Each plaque includes a floor sample from one of the original traps of the Hayes Stage. Each, unique and complete with random spattered paint, screw or nail holes, spike tape, etc., testifies to the character and many productions that have graced this historic stage! 

Learn more here!