Faculty Teaching Areas and Specialities

The faculty members within Radford University's School of Communication provide a superior education to students which has been built from years of experience and research. Because of the breadth of faculty knowledge, the School of Communication offers a wide range of teaching areas and specialities. Professors and instructors are listed below their respective teaching concentration and speciality.

Communication Major

Includes concentrations in Communication Studies and Public Relations

Communication Studies

  • Dr. Zehui Dai, Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Scott Dunn, Professor
  • Dr. Sandra French, Professor
  • Ms. Kim Herbert, Senior Instructor
  • Mr. Christopher Hull, Instructor
  • Ms. Betty Kennan, Senior Instructor
  • Dr. Matthew J. Smith, Professor & Dean of CHBS
  • Dr. Shuo Yao, Professor & Strategic Communication Graduate¬† Program Coordinator

Public Relations

  • Dr. John Brummette, Professor
  • Dr. Lisa Baker Webster, Associate Professor/Communication Studies Coordinator
  • Dr. Sandra French, Professor

Media Studies Major

Includes concentrations in Advertising, Journalism, and Media Production


  • Dr. Courtney Bosworth, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Bill Kovarik, Professor

Media Production

  • Mr. Christopher Hull, Instructor
  • Dr. Sam Jennings, Associate Professor/Media Studies Coordinator
  • Mr. Michael J. Meindl, Associate Professor/Cinema Studies Coordinator
  • Dr. Matthew Turner, Professor

Strategic Communication, M.S. Program

Dr. Shuo Yao (syao@radford.edu) is the graduate program coordinator.

  • Dr. John Brummette
  • Dr. Lisa Baker Webster
  • Dr. Scott Dunn
  • Dr. Sandra French


Ms. Kimberly Herbert (kewood@radford.edu) is the internship coordinator for the School of Communication